The Fat Guy in review and weekly update

Standard

Good morning SFFG Fan’s. Well today marks 157 days on my journey to lose weight and be in better shape. I started this journey at 320 lbs and was doing little to no exercise. I am happy to report that as of this morning I am at 264lbs for a total weight loss of 56 lbs in 157 days.  I have lost about 17.5% of my weight since I started and dropped my BMI from 43.4 to 35.8.  Now with BMI I think that is a bunch of crap because on all the calculators that I have seen it says I should be about 188lbs to be a normal weight.  I am pretty sure that is way to skinny for me.  Well I still have a ways to go and will cross that bridge when I get there.

I still have not had a sip of soda and that is really the most impressive for me…

 

Yesterday Amanda and I began our Cool Summer Mornings 5K Series put together by Sommer Sports. It was a great run (except for the hills). This was also the first race that I ran/walked.

Image

(photo courtesy of Sommer Sports)

I finished the race in a total time of 39:45 min (PR) and an average pace of 12:48 min/mile (PR).  It was definitely harder than just walking but it made it that much more rewarding.  Amanda was waiting for me at the finish line and got some shots of me running across my first finish line.

Image

(Running down the Finishing Chute)

Image

(Almost done!)

After the race I started to think about the running portion of my journey and looking back as to how far I have come since my first 5K back in January.  Here is a history of my official runs:

January 25th 2014 – Season’s 52 5.2K – Finishing time 48:13

March 15, 2014 – Winter Park Road Race (10K + 2 Miles) – Finishing time 1:36:45

April 19th, 2014 – Pig Run of Lake Nona 5K – Finishing time 41:24

June 7th, 2014 – Cool Summer Mornings 5K Series (#1) – Finishing time 39:45

So from Jan until now I have improved my time by 8:28, I don’t think thats bad.  An improvement is an improvement right?

My next race will be Race #2 in the series next month.  I have also signed up for a 15K and Half-Marathon in October….by far my greatest distances.

Thank you again for all the support you guys have provided me it is appreciated more than words can express.  Until next time

Onward and Downward!

Image

One thought on “The Fat Guy in review and weekly update

Leave a comment