37 and not just my age (well almost)

Standard

So again I am a week late on posting but it was another crazy week around the Nethero household.  This week was the ICRC conference which is a crazy week for Amanda.  Also this year I was a speaker at the conference, which was pretty cool.  This was also another test of will power because they have a hospitality room with a…..wait for it……CANDY BAR!!!! Yes I said it a candy bar.  And there are only some of my favorites in there.  But I was good and stuck to the more healthy options.  

Here is my progress so far.  I am down 37 pounds since my journey began.  I now weigh 283 pounds and feel great.  I have consistently been losing about 1-3 pounds a week.  As long as I keep that up I will be happy.  I am starting to see some difference when I look in the mirror.  Slowly but surely is going to win the race.  

One question I get asked a lot is what am I doing?  When I tell them all I am doing is walking and counting calories they seem to have a hard time believing that is all I am doing.  Now I was never strong in math in school but it really is a simply math issue.  Calories in and Calories out.  Keep those in check and you will succeed.  That and having a great support system around you.  I have had such great support from my family, friends, coworkers, and the community here on this blog.  One thing that I never thought would happen from this blog was that my journey would be considered “inspirational” to others.  Apparently that has happened on a few occasions.  But seeing other peoples success only pushes me to work harder.  

My biggest physical challenge is coming up next weekend.  I am going to be doing another race with Track Shack.  This one is the Winter Park 10k which is by far the farthest distance I will have walked other than around my house.  But there is a twist to this one.  They have a challenge where you add 2 miles to it.  So were going for it!  I am a little nervous but cant wait to get back out there and get my first BLING as well. They also give you a free beer! I am really getting into this race thing and hope within the next year to take part in a 1/2 marathon!  I never thought I would say that. 

Image

I got another interesting question the other day as well.  And the question was why am I trying to lose weight?  Well that is probably the most simple answer out there.  And the reason I am doing this is…….

 

Imagethese guys right here!

These guy are my reason for doing this.  I want to be healthier for them, I want to be a good example for them, I want to be around for them.  I don’t need any other reason then them.  The healthier I am the longer I am around for them.

Weigh in is tomorrow and I will try to get an update out as soon as possible.  I am also firing up the smoker tomorrow.  

 

Onward and Downward!

Image 

 

One thought on “37 and not just my age (well almost)

Leave a comment